• e-Buzz

SA Hip Hop Awards 2015 winners

Amanda Ndlangisa |
10 December 2015

Riky Rick and Aka cleans up at SA Hip Hop awards, Cassper Nyovest gets booed off stage and Tumi from the Volume wins his first ever award.  

Watch the South African Hip Hop Awards on e.tv on Thursday 31 December at 22:50PM.

The biggest awards in the hip hop industry took place at the Lyric Theatre at Gold Reef City last night. As expected, there were great wins and a lot of shade thrown around. 

Aka received Best Collaboration for his track “The Saga” with Anatii, which was a bit awkward after their beef. AKA wasn’t present to collect the award but Anatii did and gave AKA a shout out. Aka led with five wins for Best Collaboration, Best Digital Sales, Most Valuable Artist, Video of the Year for “The Saga” and Milestone of the Year. Though the Milestone of the Year award was given to both him and Cassper Nyovest, AKA was the first winner. 

Some shade was thrown around by Cassper when he went to accept his award “You can’t compare a platinum selling album to a gold selling album.” This did not please the crowd as he was booed off stage. 

More shade was thrown by Anatii and Cassper. While Anatii performed “The Saga” (a song by him and AKA), Cassper got on stage and did a little remix. Luckily he’s remix was nice and he didn’t get booed off, but people weren’t impressed. 

Other winners include legendary DJ Reddy D who received a well-deserved Honourary Award for his work in the industry. Ricky Rick took home Best Male and Album Of The Year for Family Values and thanked his son and the mother of his child for the support.  

Tumi Molekane from Tumi and the Volume received the Best Lyricist award and during his acceptance speech, he mentioned it was his first ever award. Which is a bit shocking and hard to believe that the industry has been sleeping on him that much. 

Though the ceremony started two hours late, the performances made up for it. L_Tido brought the house down when he performed Dlala Ka Yona while Ricky Rick, Major League DJs (who won DJ of the year) and Cassper Nyovest performed a few of their fan favourite tracks. 

Visit the South African Hip Hop Awards for a full list of the winners and watch the ceremony on Thursday 31 December at 22:50PM.